• Adam Sandler is the newest winner of the Mark Twain Prize
  • It's a top award in the world of American comedy
  • He'll receive the prize at a gala in March 2023 

On Dec. 13, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts announced the winner of the 2023 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. Adam Sandler, will receive the prestigious award at a gala held on March 19.

"Adam Sandler has entertained audiences for over three decades with his films, music and his tenure as a fan favorite cast member on SNL," said Deborah F. Rutter, Kennedy Center President, via The Independent.

"Adam has created characters that have made us laugh, cry and cry from laughing," Rutter added.

Adam Sandler's career journey to the Mark Twain Prize

Adam Sandler appeared on Saturday Night Live alongside other favorite cast members such as Chris Farley from 1990 to 1995.

His decade-spanning film career was launched by films like 1995's Billy Madison and 1998's The Waterboy.

Also interesting:

In 1999, Sandler formed his film production company, Happy Madison Productions, which would go on to produce many of Sandler's films.

His 2019 role in Uncut Gems would garner Sandler a number of nominations and awards. He went on to win the National Board of Review and the Independent Spirit Award.

Past recipients of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor include George Carlin, Richard Pryor and Whoopi Goldberg.

See more in the video above.