MTV made the announcement on Thursday. Other celebs who have received the award in the past include Chris Pratt, Reese Witherspoon and Will Smith. Smith's wife, Jada Pinkett Smith, will also receive and award at this year's ceremony. The 2019 MTV Movie & TV Awards, hosted by Zachary Levi, will air Monday, June 17, at 9 p.m. ET.

Dwayne Johnson will star in Hobbs & Shaw in 2019 

Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson on the red carpet at the 2019 Time100 Gala in New York City, New York.

Find out all about WHY Dwayne Johnson is this year's laureate, have a look at our video!