Martie Erwin Maguire, Emily Erwin Robison, and Natalie Maines are better known for being part of the American bluegrass and country music band the Dixie Chicks, which was formed in the late 1980's in Dallas, Texas. The band, which was originally composed of four members, began to gain public attention in 1998 after releasing the classic hit There's Your Trouble and the album Wide Open Spaces. Overall, The Dixie Chicks have won more than 10 Grammy awards, have released seven studio albums, and have sold 30.5 million albums; they also became the top selling all-female band and biggest-selling country group in the United States during the 1990's and 2000's.

In 1999, the Dixie Chicks released the album Fly which debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 charts. But it was in 2001 that the band debuted one of their most meaningful and famous songs I Believe in Lovehonouring the victims of the 9/11 attacks in New York City. Two years later, in 2003, the band expressed their concern before the invasion of Iraq; during a concert in London, the lead vocalist Maines told the audience that "we don't want this war, this violence, we're ashamed that the President of the United States is from Texas."

The Dixie Chicks - Through the years of their career

In 2006 the Dixie Chicks released the single Not Ready to Make Nice, which addressed the political controversy in which the band was involved in previous years, which is something that most of the Dixie Chicks fans value the most when it comes to talk about how the all-female group stands for itself. Later on, in 2010, Maguire and Robison released new music without Maines, and announced that the duo would be known as Court Yard Hounds and were set to release a new album.

During the 2010's the Dixie Chicks embarked on tours with other music stars like the Eagles, and in 2015 a 2016 European tour was announced. The band performed on stages across different countries like Switzerland, the Netherlands, and United Kingdom. And after a 13-year hiatus, the Dixie Chicks confirmed only a couple of months ago, that they are returning with a new album, which will be the first new studio album since the 2006's Taking the Long Way.