The screen adaptation of the Bridgerton books premiered on December 25, 2020, on Netflix and is already one of the most popular shows on the streaming service. On January 4, 2021, Netflix announced that the series had already been seen by 68 million households within ten days, making it one of the most successful Netflix shows of all time.

But did you know that Bridgerton is based on the Julia Quinn novels of the same name? In fact, the Bridgerton book series was created over 20 years ago and comprises a total of ten novels, the last two belonging to the bonus collection. The first edition was published in 2000.

The latest Bridgerton book was published in 2016. The books were published for over 16 years, sometimes with longer breaks in between each novel. 

The "Bridgerton" family of the Netflix hit "Bridgerton"

Bridgerton books in order:

The Bridgerton books appeared in this order:

  • Volume 1: The Duke and I (2000)
  • Volume 2: The Viscount Who Loved Me (2000)
  • Volume 3: An Offer From a Gentleman (2001)
  • Volume 4: Romancing Mr. Bridgerton (2002)
  • Volume 5: To Sir Phillip, With Love (2003)
  • Volume 6: When He Was Wicked (2004)
  • Volume 7: It's In His Kiss (2005)
  • Volume 8: On the Way to the Wedding (2006)

Additional volumes: 

  • Volume 9: The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After (2013)
  • Volume 10: Because of Miss Bridgerton (2016) 

The romance novels are set between 1813 and 1827 and depict the life of "Daphne" and her seven siblings. Each Bridgerton book deals with a sibling and thus always focuses on a new main character. 

So eight siblings make eight novels. According to the chronology of the Bridgerton book series, these are: "Daphne", "Anthony", "Benedict", "Colin", "Eloise", "Francesca", "Hyacinth" and "Gregory Bridgerton". There is also a bonus collection of short stories and two novels that focus on "Lady Whistledown," the anonymous gossip columnist who narrates the Netflix series. 

The Netflix series "Bridgerton" can look forward to positive reviews

After the great success of season 1: Will the entire Bridgerton book series be filmed?  

The first season of Bridgerton, which received good reviews, comes from the first volume published in 2000, The Duke and I, which means, in theory, seven more seasons should follow. But is that planned?

In fact, there is already talk of a second season and Chris Van Dusen, director of the historical series romance, announced that he could well imagine all eight seasons based on the Bridgerton novels written by Julia Quinn.

This would set a Netflix record for the series, as not a single Netflix show has had as many seasons. With seven seasons, Orange Is the New Black is the only Netflix original that is close. 

'Bridgerton': Facts About Netflix Hottie Regé-Jean Page

Everything you wanted to know about the "Duke of Hastings"!

'Bridgerton': Facts About Netflix Hottie Regé-Jean Page

'Bridgerton' Quiz

Which author wrote the book series 'Bridgerton' is based on?